Another week in the books.
So far I am down a few inches, and have not broken the 190 mark yet. I let the cheat day get away with me when following the Carb Cycling program. My cheat days roll into Mondays and some times Tuesdays. No bueno. I think I need to remember to eat every three hours, and only eat up to an extra 1000 calories that day--not an extra 3000. I was so excited last week. I thought I would do great because it was fast Sunday. I fasted breakfast and lunch. I was ready to eat dinner. By the end of it, I had consumed a total of 2020 calories. And that was with one meal and a few slices from mini loaves of zucchini bread. I am sure I consumed a whole loaf. It was hecka good.
My weight this morning was still at 190.5 Tomorrow I have a 9 mile run. I am keeping my fingers crossed that I can shed that extra half pound of water and break 190. I am nervous for tomorrow though. I have a lot of football and soccer games to attend. I am going to be prepared as best I can with fruits, protein, and vegetables. It will not be easy. My son starts the day at 10:00 a.m. with football and our last game is at 4:10 p.m. with soccer. I know the consensus will be to go out for dinner. It is about making wise choices. But when it is hot (90 degree plus degrees) a Sprite from the fountain tastes so freaking good.
Here we go into the weekend--the hardest part for me. If I could be consistent with the weekend, I would have this weight gone by now. I don't have any meat prepared. But I did get some protein powder today. Oh the brilliance of shaker cups and water. Isn't it wonderful? I know I can bring a small cooler filled with celery and carrot slices. I may even add some cucumbers and tomatoes as well. I love that almond butter comes in easy portable packs. And the kids will have grapes and Z bars. I am sure they will prefer chips and Capri-Suns.
But I had a wakeup call with my kids. I took them to the doctor this past week. I weighed them at the beginning of the summer. At the doctor's visit they all had gained an extra fifteen pounds this summer. It makes sense. My husband loves take out. They in turn have liked take out. I am super nervous about my eight year old. He thinks he needs a double cheeseburger. I ask him to get a single. If I can eat from a kid's meal, he can as well. Even a kid's meal is approximately 1000 calories when it is all added together. I need to include my kids in more active activities. One is very involved in football and basketball. He loves fruits and vegetables. He doesn't always have snacks or treats. He will pull out grape tomatoes for snacks--or cereal. My other kids don't know how to portion control. If they see a cookie, they want five of them.
For example, we fed the missionaries at our house last night. I purchased some petite brownies for dessert for them. There are 24 of them in a package. I know I shouldn't have had three of them. My problem was I ate every three hours but I didn't have a lot of time to sit and eat so it was something very small and not filling. By the time dinner came, I was starving so I did not act in control of my foods and if it is there, I have a tendency to over indulge. But my son kept asking and asking for another one. I stopped him at two, but he persisted for more. I need to get a handle on this. One thing I need to start doing is having more meals prepared at home. Then the tendency to eat out is limited. But even then--my husband won't like my healthy options and will bring home take out for the kids regardless. It is an uphill battle for sure. I know my kids love to play. They love the park. They love riding their bikes. They love taking a walk with me. I need to implement this more. I need to make their exercise more of a priority in my life. It can be something small like walks after dinner--or a trip to the park for a half hour. That won't always be feasible because of practices or piano lessons, but three times a week is better than none.
Also, THIS IS HUGE!!!!!
I ran 3.57 miles today. In the heat. My training program suggested four. But I turned early and when I got home noticed I was a half mile short. D'oh! But that isn't what I am excited about. I was putting vaseline on my arms (the underarm where it rubs the body) to avoid chafing--especially with three or more miles to log. Today I completely forgot. Guess what? I. did. not. chafe!!!!! I think my nutrition and exercising is paying off! I know the inches are coming down. I can feel it. I have measured it. And by golly--I did not have the chaffing today. That is HUGE! I will definitely apply it tomorrow on my nine mile run. I may even run 10. I can't decide which route to take. Either I am doing an out and back or I am doing my ten mile loop. We will see what I feel like in the morning.
I am hesitant and excited at the same time. When I trained for my last half marathon--anything over eight miles was painful. My hip didn't like it. My foot didn't like it. My skin didn't like it (hence the vaseline or BodyGlide). I did 8.75 last weekend just fine. I had to stretch at the halfway point because I was nervous about my hip. But I made it. But now comes the challenge. Will my body hold tomorrow? 80 percent mental and 20 percent do--unless there is pain. Then you listen to your body.
We got this.
No comments:
Post a Comment